Crusty Cheese & Mustard Dampers

Standard

It’s been one of those weeks… Or weekends… Or days… Or whatever! Been a bit unsettled & distracted… In an ‘HEA-Combo’ Funk…. You know the HEAD, HEART & the Bombay HEAT! I went for a long(ish) walk, watched romantic comedies on TV, chatted with the girlfriend and sister… Nothing helped! Not even the Kitchen managed to pull me out of my ‘zone’ 😦

I looked through some new recipes online… Was tempted to try some…. ok… All!

Giant Chocolate Chip Cookies, Hazelnut Chocolate Brownies, Double Chocolate Hot Chocolate! Everything Chocolate! I realized that this would soon turn from a Comfort Baking Session to a Comfort Eating Marathon! And I so do not need the extra calories!

So the next morning I bundled myself into the car with the husband & headed into town to see Ma… When in a Zone Head Home… Always works 🙂 She said she would make me Broccoli Almond Soup (comfort without the calories!) & I knew just what I could bake to go with that!

Image

Sometime ago, when I was going through a Muffin phase, I had picked up The Australian Women’s Weekly Muffins and Breads. The recipes are simple & no fuss. And what I loved the most were the Scones!

I have been meaning to try out these Dampers, which are an Australian bread. Traditionally Dampers were made by stock-men & other travelers as they camped out in the bush, with not much with them other than sacks of flour, sugar, tea, available meat & a camp fire to cook on.  The original recipe used flour, salt & water or milk, with baking soda used sometimes as a leavening agent. The bread was baked in the ashes of the campfire. The travelers ate this bread with dried or cooked meat or golden syrup and almost always with a swig of rum or tea

And it tastes great with soup too!

Ingredients

  • 600gm Self Raising Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Dry Mustard
  • 30gm Butter
  • 500ml Milk, approximately

Topping

  • 30gm Butter
  • 2 tablespoon Seeded Mustard
  • ½ teaspoon Cayenne Pepper
  • 120gm Parmesan Cheese (coarsely grated)

Image

Note

I didn’t have seeded mustard, so I used mustard seeds, interesting flavour!

Add a dash of Olive Oil to the Topping to make it easier to spread on the Dampers.

I didn’t have Parmesan, so used regular Processed Cheese.

The recipe did not call for salt, but I put some anyway.

I wasn’t concentrating enough… forgot the Cayenne Pepper!!

Method

  1. Sift flour & mustard into a large bowl.
  2. Rub in the butter & stir in enough milk to mix to a soft, sticky dough.
  3. Turned dough onto a floured surface & knead till smooth. Press dough out to about 1.5cm (5/8 in) thickness, cut into 7cm (2 ¾ in) rounds
  4. Place the rounds, just touching, onto greased baking trays.
  5. Spread the topping.
  6. Bake in a hot oven for about 15 minutes.

ImageImage

Note

The temperature wasn’t specified in the recipe, so I pre-heated ay about 300C & baked at 250C

The first batch was pretty pale, so I brushed the tops with extra olive oil for the next one. They browned better.

Just for fun at Step 3, I spread the topping on the dough after pressing it out & then rolled it up tightly & sliced out little rounds. They looked pretty!

The result the dampers were crusty on the top & soft, light & flaky on the inside. The mustard seeds gave a smoky flavour. Warm with a dab of butter… Comfort all the way!

image

This recipe makes 15 Dampers

3 responses »

  1. My daughter and I made Damper’s once for a school project she was doing on Australia. Yours look way tastier than ours did!

  2. Pingback: A Year Older & Banned from the Kitchen… | The Odd Hour Kitchen

Leave a Reply

